CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

salisaturday

28th June 2015, 09:35
Thank you. I did actually try that approach but got in a real mess with my attempt at clue numbering.
I'm still fairly new to these puzzles and I'm not going to beat myself up for not spotting the key device for the grid-fill.
11 of 53  -   Report This Post

ionacarr

28th June 2015, 11:34
This took me ages to get started on, even with the hint about CLAM-S, which set me off up what turned out to be a blind alley. It does all come together eventually, but I found I had to start at the top and work down before the thematic treatments fell into a pattern.

Dryden, the bottom row isn't one of those thematically affected, so that should help a bit. The weaknesses seemed to me to be the two missing vertical bars (essential in the final grid as described but distracting during the solving) and the fact that the fifth row contains an exceptionally well concealed thematic item that you can complete the grid without needing to identify. But a bit of Googling (or a long memory) will reveal it if you're a complete-ist.

There are some clever teasers in the clues, alluding to both elements of the theme.
12 of 53  -   Report This Post

dryden

28th June 2015, 13:16
Thanks, Ionacar, I confirmed that shortly after my post. I haven't quite finished but nearly there. The item in the fifth row to which you refer puzzles me. I'm sure I have it but I don't see how the first four letters of the full name are provided. I have three different letters provided by the 3-letter entry in column 6, which I assume accommodates the eighth down clue.
13 of 53  -   Report This Post

cockie

28th June 2015, 13:25