CancelReport This Post

Please fill out the form below with your name, e-mail address and the reason(s) you wish to report this post.

Crossword Help Forum
Forum Rules

jono

7th January 2024, 13:27
@Paul and @Quisling,

Well… as I said I sent a note to the author Jasper Fforde and he was kind enough to respond to me just now. Here’s exactly what he said which I will copy and paste…

“Hi Jono,

Yes it does have an answer, and yes it is a cryptic clue.

It's not the first time I've used crossword clues but left the answer blank. Don't know why. Despite being a writer, I am terrible at crosswords.

In 'Shades of Grey' there is this one:

“Three down,” he muttered, “I spy an Equus. Nine letters, begins and ends in A.”

...which should be obvious, and might help you solve the plumber clue. They *are* cryptic, but best not overthink it, and there's probably a silly joke or pun involved.

The actual answer? I wish I could remember. I may, given a bit of time. If I come up with it, I'll let you know.

Or offer a clue

hmmm...

Jasper”
41 of 214  -   Report This Post

quisling

7th January 2024, 13:38
Thanks, Jono. That’s most instructive. I think I know the answer to that clue, and its construction. Now to apply it to the original …
42 of 214  -   Report This Post

jono

8th January 2024, 11:24
Well… I’ve had another email from Jasper. Here it is in full…

“Pedants united. What a great place to hang out - although I won't, because I'll never leave.

I am sometimes called pedantic, and my stock answer is that actually it should be pronounced ''pedantique' from the French. I'm not so sure this is true, but if someone is going to call you pedantic, you need to meet fire with fire...

I remembered the answer. It's 'Writer's Block' which is a far too oblique, but reflects the difficulties I had writing the book. I think it might have been a personal in-joke, so I may have made the clue purposefully obscure.

You got the Equus clue, I take it?

Best,

Jasper”